Cooking with Kelli

Since moving to Evanston, my friend Kelli and I have been taking turns hosting themed cooking parties. Kelli is a vegetarian so I love being able to test out different vegetarian recipes that I normally wouldn’t be able to do with Patrick.

Here is Kelli in action last week making black bean soup:

Kelli Stirring

She just got a new mobile kitchen that we tested out for the first time on Sunday.

Mobile Kitchen

The other nice thing about cooking in her kitchen is that we always have moral support from her frog, Polly (sp?).

DSC_0003

We also had these newly acquired daffodils to brighten up our cooking experience.  One of the flowers was broken when Kelli purchased it, but it’s nothing a little Scotch tape can’t fix 🙂

Flowers

Last Sunday marked the 6th time we’ve cooked together (I think) and for some reason I’m just now getting around to blogging about them!

Just recently, we started designing our meals around themes.  Last Sunday was South of the Border, and before that it was Sunday Brunch.  Here are the recipes from our last two cooking adventures.  I’ve included links for all the recipes, which we found over Pinterest.  We ended up eliminating the cilantro and substituted vegetable stock for chicken stock.  I encourage you to experiment with your own preferences.

South of the Border

Tofu Tostadas – a great way to experiment with tofu!

Tofu Tostadas

 

Here I am holding up a tostada, just because.

Monica with TostadaTofu Tostadas

Black Bean Soup – delicious and healthy!  We reserved about 1/4 cup of the black beans for texture and added it later to the pureed soup.

Black Bean Soup

Mexican Rice – your classic recipe.  The secret is to blend Rotel tomatoes and onions together before cooking the rice so you get flavor in every bite.

Mexican-Rice

Sunday Brunch

Tomato, Kale, & Feta Baked Eggs – I can’t stress enough how delicious this dish is… and easy!

Baked-Eggs

Waffle of Insane Greatness – I think the name is a bit of an exaggeration but the waffles were still good.  I’m still searching for the perfect waffle recipe, so if you have one, please send away!

Waffles

Waffles

Power Protein Smoothie – extremely healthy and delicious!  The secret is the silken tofu (I know, I was totally skeptical, too, but you have to try it) and the flax seeds give it a nice texture as well.

Smoothies

 

Morning Star Veggie Sausages – a great way to round out the meal and add some more protein

Veggie Sausages

Fruit Salad – we basically just started grabbing what looked like the freshest fruit in the store and threw it together to create this colorful spectrum.

DSC_0065Fruit Salad

You’ll have to let me know if you end up trying any of these recipes.  So far we haven’t made anything we haven’t liked! (Knock on wood).

Kelli and I currently have a Pinterest party with our friends Jenn & Lauren in the works and another Comfort Food themed get-together, so stay tuned for more recipes!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Cooking with Kelli

  1. I love everything about this post, beginning to end. You two truly make me smile with all of your culinary adventures, and I can’t WAIT for our upcoming Pinterest party! “Waffles of Insane Greatness” is an awesome name for a recipe, and I could really go for a smoothie right about now. See you soon!

    • Monica says:

      Thanks Jenn! And thanks again for introducing me to Kelli! I have no doubt that our next Pinterest party will be epic 🙂 And yes, the smoothies were delicious – I want to try all of them on that list at some point… 🙂

      • Kelli says:

        We can’t wait for your visit, Jenn! We’ll soon need to finalize our menu!

        And thank you for introducing me to Monica! :o)

  2. Anthony Tienprasid says:

    All of that looks soooo yummy. Let’s be real though all you need to make Patrick happy is a Burger King Double Stacker value meal.

    • Monica says:

      This is true… my next blog post will be titled “Cooking with Patrick” in which we go through Burger King Drive Thru and get double cheeseburger value meals with a large Dr. Pepper 🙂

  3. Susan says:

    While T-sid is correct about Patrick’s tastes, I find your dishes beautiful and inspiring! 🙂 I need to bust out our blender and make some fancy smoothies…

Leave a Reply

