It’s Not That Easy Being Green…

… just ask Kermit the Frog.

A few weeks ago, Kelli and I took a container gardening class together through the local ecology center.

We picked up some great tips on how to assemble our pots with the proper ratio of “thrillers,” “fillers,” and “spillers.”

IMG_1877

Since neither of us get much sun in our apartments, we selected most of our plants from the “shady” plant section, which included begonia, vinca vines, polka dot plants, and torenia (also known as “wishbone” or “clown” flowers).  Really though, I was just grabbing for the prettiest colors on the table.

Check out our final masterpieces:

IMG_1876 IMG_1878

I must say I’ve grown quite attached to my container plant these past few weeks.  It would be impossible to name each flower individually and keep track, so I’m thinking of going with just one family name, like The Jetsons or The Robinsons.  Thoughts?  Whatever it’s called, it’s bound to be a step up from the plant Mikala and I shared when we lived together in LA which we lovingly called “Planty.”

IMG_1879

A couple days after I brought my container plant home, I decided to set it outside on the balcony in the morning for some fresh air.  When I returned home from work, in just a mere 8 hours or so, the cold wind had transformed my lush, beautiful plants to this sad sight:

IMG_1884

The leaves were shriveled and crumbly, the stems were snapped in several places – no longer able to hold the pods up – and the blooms had completely withered and disappeared.

I was devastated.

IMG_1884

I considered cutting my losses and just throwing the whole thing away.  But for whatever reason, I continued to nurture them just to see if any sign of life reemerged.  I removed all of the dead and shriveled leaves and stripped it down to whatever was salvageable.

And it’s a good thing I did because look at them now!

IMG_2021 IMG_2022What a difference a smidgeon of sun and warmth can make 🙂

Moral of the story:

keep the faith/hope exists/miracles happen

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “It’s Not That Easy Being Green…

  1. Susan says:

    Hooray for the plant resurrection! Well done. 🙂 Oh, and I think Planty is a nice name. Reminds me of something I would use, like how my stuffed monkey is named Mr. Monk. As for a family name, I like your Jetsons idea. Perhaps The Flintstones? As long as you don’t pick something like The Kardashians, I’m sure your plants will fare well.

    • Monica says:

      Mr. Monk is a fine name for a monkey! I’m just sorry I didn’t think of that one growing up. I did have a bear that I called “Bobo” though. As far as these guys, I think I’m going to settle on “The Jackson 5” since I have 5 different kinds of plants growing in there (I think…) 🙂

  2. Debby Engel says:

    Love your beautiful flowers, The arrangement is very pretty! Now I want to see how your garden is growing.

Leave a Reply

