Salad in a Jar: Confetti Quinoa Salad

DSC_0150

Salad in a jar.  I’m obsessed.

It’s not exactly a revelation, but there’s something about seeing all of the colorful layers stacked up inside the jar that makes your everyday salad that much more appetizing.  Also, it’s fun getting to dump it all out into a big bowl and mix it up.  And the best part is that you can prep a few jars for the week and have a healthy salad on hand whenever you want.

DSC_0226

I chose these ingredients based on color and nutritional value (in an attempt to make up for lost time that week…) and have since dubbed it my “Confetti Quinoa Salad.”  I used tricolor quinoa, green and red bell peppers, chickpeas, corn, edamame, radish, and green onion.  To dress it up, I used my new vinaigrette infuser that I received for Christmas to make an orange vinaigrette (orange juice, parsley, garlic, shallots, red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper).  Nutritious and delicious 🙂

DSC_0229

For my next “Salad in a Jar” endeavor, I think I’m going to try Greek Pasta Salad.  But really, the possibilities are endless.

I’m suddenly realizing that my current jar collection of 1 is inadequate… Time to go jar shopping.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

